batpopla.blogg.se

Enya album sail away
Enya album sail away












In the morning I open the shutters – you’ll note in the castle it’s shutters, not curtains – and I look out on to the Irish sea. What’s the best thing about that?Įasily the views. Enya’s eighth album, Dark Sky Island, is released on Aigle/Warners on Friday. Sail away, sail away, sail away x4 From the North to the South Ebudae into Khartoum From the deep sea of Clouds To the island of the moon Carry me on the waves To the lands Ive never been Carry me on the waves To the lands Ive never seen We can sail, we can sail With the orinoco flow We can sail, we can sail. It’s important to stick with your process, and you shouldn’t lose sight of the music that’s inside yourself. Her breakthrough album, Watermark, came out in 1988 and featured the No 1 hit Orinoco Flow. I was very clear to the label that there would be two- or three-year-long gaps between albums. Before I signed to Warners I was doing instrumental soundtrack work and it was my first experience with a solo album. Enya achieved a breakthrough in her career in 1988 with the album Watermark, containing the hit song 'Orinoco Flow' which topped the charts in the United Kingdom.Three years later, Shepherd Moons followed. If I’ve encouraged anyone that’s a positive thing, because the way I work is unique. Enya has released eight studio albums, three compilation albums, twenty-one singles and a number of other appearances. Your influence has been noted in the work of Grimes and Julia Holter. If I’ve encouraged anyone that’s a positive thing, because the way I work is unique Two songs on the new album are in Loxian. To me, it’s irrelevant whether I’m using a fictional or real language to sing a song in. Roma said that she would invent one and I thought, great. We had the lyrics but didn’t have the right language to sing it in. Loxian came about when we were working on a song, The River Sings, from Amarantine. As well as Gaelic, Latin, Welsh and Japanese, I sang in Elvish for May It Be from The Lord of the Rings. I feel comfortable singing in a variety of languages. Your creative partner Roma Ryan created a language, Loxian, for you to sing in. I’m disciplined when it comes to doing my scales and vocal warm-ups because of my classical training, but I can be in the studio for a day, a week, a month not having written anything. We worked on it for a month then left it for six months. The first song I wrote for this album was Dark Sky Island. What’s the longest you’ve taken to put one together? You’ve said that it takes months for you to put a song together.














Enya album sail away